Day Five, or the One Where We’re Going to Go Watch a Children’s Talent Show

Oh the things we do for the blog. Tonight is first night of the Vocal Sport talent competition. We’re looking forward to seeing some of the guys judge the talent… though we’re told it’s not being done American Idol-style and the guys will just be writing down their critiques. However, a few of the guys will be emceeing, and we’re pretty sure that there will be some witty banter going on. We may or may not have encouraged them to go off-script. ::fingers crossed::

Readers, dear readers, we are so very sorry we haven’t posted about the Saturday concerts yet. We promise it will happen eventually. We’ve been going nonstop these past few days, as you’ve probably gathered, and haven’t been back to our room hardly at all… except to sleep. We’re about to leave to go get some lunch, go shopping, and then hit up Vocal Sport tonight. πŸ™‚ We’ll update if anything epic happens!

-Troi and Crusher

UPDATES:

Update #1:

So, one of the questions we’ve been getting a lot here in Provo is, “For real, who is leading in the poll where the readers decide who will be Troi and Crusher’s favorite member of Vocal Point?”Β  We’ve been pretty coy in response, not letting on to who is in the lead.Β  And we’re pretty sure some of the guys voted for themselves.Β  Which they should.Β  Unless they don’t want to be the favorite.Β  Anyway, we’ve decided to kick this up a notch and edit the parameters of the poll to make things more interesting.Β  Keep in mind that no one, not even us, can see who you vote for.Β  All we get are the cumulative results. And, we’ve decided to make it so you can vote more than once.Β  So have at it.Β  Spam the darn poll if you want.Β  We want to see how interesting this can get.Β  Vote below:

Update #2:

We just sat through three hours of eight- to fourteen-year-olds singing just to mine comedy gold from the emcees and judges for you readers (We’re not going to critique the performances of children. That’s just wrong.). Luckily, the emcees, McKay and Jake de.liv.ered. There was witty banter, a few jokes that we thoroughly enjoyed (even though the rest of the audience seemed to be too nervous for the participants to laugh), and a McButters and Jake jig-can-can line. We’ll break it all down later (we promise), but let us just say that even though we’ve heard more Adele tonight than we’ve heard in the last month, it was time well-spent.

And apparently we have a politician in our midst. Personally, we’d kind of like to see some of the other guys step up their game and hit the campaign trail, too. Because while we may run most of the blog as a benevolent McDictatorship, the poll for determining who the readers think should be our favorite Vocal Pointer is a shining example of the purest form of democracy. Basically, we want it to be full of corruption, bribery, ballot box stuffing, and all sorts of other shenanigans that will be hilarious.

-T and C

57 Responses to Day Five, or the One Where We’re Going to Go Watch a Children’s Talent Show

  1. Tanner says:

    Vote for Tanner 2012
    It’s the cool thing to do.

    And I’ll give you new and exclusive Tanner’s Street points. They are like street cred, only they’re no good on the streets.

    Let the campaigning begin πŸ˜‰

    • SweetPotato says:

      Oh this looks like it’s gonna be good.

    • Clari says:

      Um, totally claiming those Tanner Street points, just so you know πŸ˜‰

    • Tanner Street says:

      I voted for! (drum roll please)
      Who else, Tanner? πŸ˜‰

      I’m claiming my Tanner’s Street points, I probably have more of those than TMtP points, now. πŸ™‚

    • Tigereem says:

      Oh Tanner. You definately got a few votes from me. So how many Tanner Street Points do I get for voting for you? πŸ˜‰

    • Keith says:

      I’m Keith Evans and I approve this message.

      …I mean come on. Have you HEARD the guy beat box?…. πŸ™‚

      • Keith! Why don’t you start your own campaign and give away Keith points? We’d love to see how that competition plays out. πŸ™‚
        -T and C

      • McKay (or really, Tanner-- T&C) says:

        Yeah, Tanner is pretty awesome…

        I think I agree on this one and everyone should McVote for Tanner!

        (T and C pulling rank here. There’s no way you readers would have known this without our note, but Tanner actually wrote this himself. Sneaky, sneaky, that honey badger!)

      • I love a cappella says:

        Bahahaha…. I don’t know which is funnier, Keith campaigning for Tanner or Tanner pretending he is McKay (or whatever that says).

        I go to sleep and look what happens on here. I guess I just can’t “hang” with y’all. πŸ˜‰

  2. fredette about it says:

    Me three!!! Lovin’ the Tanner Street Points! Vote early and vote often….Tanner 2012 it’s the Jimmer thing to do.

  3. Bela says:

    I was going for Keith but gotta give Tanner some extra love for his awesomely shameless campaign

  4. petch says:

    As much as I love you Tanner, seems you don’t need my points…. I am here to wave a flag for the Unsung Hero, the Dancing Robot, the Human Didgerydoo…Robert!!!!

  5. Tanner says:

    Alright! Let’s win this thing! 1000 Tanner’s Street Points for every vote you place for Tanner as the favorite!

    I also earn 1000 Tanner’s Street Points for every time I vote for myself, and that is the bank of Tanner’s Street Points that I have to give out. We’re all in this together!

    That being said….I might have a few more Tanner’s Street Points to give out…and 5000 Tanner’s Street Points to whoever comes up with a good street slang shorthand for Tanner’s Street Points πŸ™‚

    • Tanner Street says:

      Tanner, what about… T-St-Pts or TStPts.

      You could also go with DiLiH (Droppin’ it Like it’s Hot) for your points shorthand.

    • fredette about it says:

      Since you are so “Streets of Provo” how about “provizzles” or my personal favorite “Pizzlers” your campaign slogan….
      “Pizzlers make voting fun!”
      This message brought to you by the Commission for Getting Tanner Elected the TMtP favorite.

  6. nevrothwen says:

    I’d like to claim my TSP’s (teaspoons? Doesn’t really sound street)!

  7. McKay says:

    Okay fine….I am officially declaring my candidacy in the TMtP campaign 2012! What shall I offer? Not only will McBlogPoints be given out by the thousands (4500 MBP’s to anyone who comments on this comment!), but I will also request from the Queens themselves (aka T&C…all hail) a brand new blog section/ column that YOU the people get to design, create, and name. An additional 10,000 MBP’s are on the line for anyone who gives a McTitle suggestion, a McTopic suggestion, or a McAnything suggestion in their comment.

    How shall we accomplish this? What must be done? We must vote, my friends! We must vote like there’s no tomorrow! Vote for McCrockett and all you wildest McDreams will come true!

    • McKay says:

      and all YOUR wildest McDreams will come true! (4500 MBP to me!)

      Who’s with me?!?!

      πŸ™‚

      • Tanner says:

        I just checked the exchange rate for McBlogPoints to Tanner’s Street Points…its not lookin good.

        Better stick with Tanner’s Street Points for the foreseeable future πŸ˜‰

    • Bela says:

      Ooh. There’s going to be McBattle! I’m claiming my 4500 MBPs.

    • Kris says:

      Well how can I ignore points like that! I placed a McVote as well. A man with a McPlan (does that earn me the extra 10,000??)! πŸ™‚ BUT McCrockett, I have an inquiry. How do T&C feel about a people designed section? Is that a McPromise you can fulfill??

    • Tigereem says:

      Oh McKay. You will continue to receive my votes. Although before your campaign comment, I already voted for you a couple dozen times. πŸ˜€ I might suggest that you incorporate mccheezits into your campaign somehow. It’s part of who you are, and everyone likes them. πŸ˜€

  8. Silver says:

    You know I’m a sucker for blog points. If Tanner is giving them out, I’m all over them. Unless…that is….someone has a better offer?

  9. Keith says:

    Alright, I didn’t want to have to do this:

    Snark Points. And each show of support gets you 5 of them.

    These other candidates can throw out their points by the thousands and make all kinds of promises about putting Coke in the drinking fountains; my Snark Points are so rare, there’s only so many to go around.

    A vote for Keith is a vote for snark. Because seriously, who wouldn’t want to see Obama get all witty and sarcastic up in Kim Jong Un’s grill?

  10. nevrothwen says:

    If I vote for everyone, can I collect each person’s respective points?

  11. Silver says:

    Tanner’s cool beat points or Keith’s snark Points? I do love my snark, I read TMtP after all, but I’m going to hold out until I hear what Mikey and McBribery has to offer.

  12. Cortnee :) says:

    This. is. too. good. I can’t even stay with family ties on this one… (I’m sorry, McBrother.) I vote for all, I will cast! πŸ™‚

  13. Grace Kelly says:

    Don’t forget the new guys! Landon showed up at our door to get a picture with us because we didn’t get one with him at the concert. Campaigning like a boss, that kid knows how to get some votes! πŸ™‚ So unless more past/present VP members show up at my door, hes got my many many votes!

  14. Maria says:

    Quick! Duck! Those points are flying everywhere and dangerously low! I’m collection points but will keep which ones a secret since there are so many Mcdorable, Snarky and Street VP-ers to love.

  15. Mike says:

    A vote for Mikey enters your name into a hat from which we will draw when we name our soon to be born child (April 16th). Each vote is your name thrown into a hat again. The more votes, the more likely we will name our child after YOU! πŸ™‚

  16. karen says:

    Aww, man. This is getting hard. I don’t know who to vote for. I want to vote for everyone! πŸ˜€ You guys should make campaign t-shirts. I would so buy those. haha. πŸ™‚

  17. Staci says:

    Best. Comment. Thread. EVER. Ps-I voted for all of you. So, I win.

  18. SweetPotato says:

    Am I the only one here who’s voting (along with the candidates with a campaign) for Ben? I mean, I know the man doesn’t show up on the blog very often, but every time he does, he’s HILARIOUS (I will never regret sending in that Benface photo). πŸ˜‰

    That’s why most of my votes are going to Ben, the Aussie who got me by doing an amazing impression of a bird(?) in the Sam Tsui BTS for the “Guilty Pleasures” episode.

    Also, his voice is so (to quote Shawn Stockman) BUTTAH.

    • Petch says:

      You might be… but fear not, history shows that sometimes small minorities are more powerful than the divided masses… like the bolshevicks, or ninjas with stealth moves beating the appeal of Snark Points by one vote!!!

    • Tigereem says:

      You are not the only one who is voting for Ben. I thought I was the only one voting for him, until I saw your comments. All of my votes are for McKay and Ben. πŸ˜€
      PS: Thanks SO much for the Benface pic. πŸ˜€ It was my I-Pod background for the longest time, and it made me smile every time I saw it. πŸ˜€

  19. yaznicole says:

    I laughed way to hard at this comment thread.
    All of you guys are ridiculous and I love it.
    Now, I wasn’t going to get into this but the campaigns are just too good to pass up.

    I’m putting all my chips with Keith, I mean it’s not everyday that you can just get Snark Points from the Snark Master himself!

    Side Note: Happy Pi Day!

  20. phan says:

    Though I love all the boys and their many and varied talents, I must vote for Keith due, not to snark points being proffered, but to the SNARK itself which is obviously a delight to T&C. Therefore, Keith must be the favorite I’m sure. What I’m not sure of is whether he’ll win this democratic election or not, what with all the MBPs and TSPs flying around. And a namesake at stake too??? Wow, that’s wild.

Leave a Reply

